Gray

A view of downtown Indianapolis from I-70Gray days, but running.

Twice now, I have seen in the Catalpa tree, just off the Monon, between I-65 and I-70 (the “north split”), a Northern Mocking bird. In this season, he is singing at a volume above the nearby traffic. Two weeks ago, I saw (probably) the same bird on a fence bordering the nearby soccer fields. Then, when I stopped to listen, he flew a distance further away; now, he sings and preens with little notice. The bird is a mimic, maybe, but I sense little in the manner of scorn.

Leave a Reply

